Foundation as an UGR universitary institute

Act of the extraordinary session of the UGR Council that took place on May 18th 2015, where the foundation of the institute was approved.
Internal bylaw of the institute, approved  in the same UGR Council session.

Organization chart


Governance Committees

Institute Council

It consists of the members of the institute (UGR staff), with a representation of administrative and service staff, and students following their postgraduate courses at the Institute. It is presided by the Director of the Institute, and the Secretary will act as Secretary of the Council.

Agreements of the Institute Council:

Governance Commission

This is the executive and economic affairs council. Its members are the Director, Vice-Director and Secretary of the Institute, together with two researchers of the institute, elected by the Institute Council on March 6, 2020:

  • Joaquín Pérez (Director), department of Geometry and Topology
  • Jose A. Cañizo Rincón (Vice-Director), departament of Applied Mathematics
  • Ginés López (Secretary), department of Mathematical Analysis
  • Pilar Carrasco, Departament of Algebra
  • María del Mar Rueda, Departament of Statistics and Operative Research

Outreach and External Relations Commission

Advisory board, elected by the Institute Council on March 6 2020:

  • Ana María Aguilera
  • Margarita Arias
  • Pascual Jara
  • Teresa E. Pérez
  • Joaquín Pérez
  • Miguel Luis Rodríguez
  • M. Magdalena Rodríguez
  • María Victoria Velasco

Academic Commission

Responsible for the PhD Program ‘Matematicas’, run by the Institute. Elected by the Institute on July 1 2016 and renewed on March 6 2020:

  • José A. Gálvez
  • Pascual Jara
  • Antonio Martínez
  • Juan Francisco Mena
  • Miguel Sánchez

Election Board

Elected by the Institute Council on October 11 2019:

  • Antonio Martínez
  • Juan Francisco Mena
  • María del Mar Rueda

Personal positions at the institute


Joaquín Pérez, Departament of Geometry and Topology. Elected on September 23th 2015 by the Institute Council, for a period of four years. Re-elected on December 13, 2019.


Ginés López, Departament of Mathematical Analysis. Proposed by the Director of the Institute among the members of the Institute (UGR Staff).

Vice Director

Jose A. Cañizo Rincón, Departament of Applied Mathematics. Proposed by the Director of the Insitute among the UGR staff members.

Coordinator for the creation of the inter-universitary Institute of Mathematical Research (IAMAT)

Miguel Sánchez, Departament of Geometry and Topology. Proposed by the Director of the institute (UGR personnel).

External Scientific Committee

  • Tobias H Colding (MIT)
  • Gilles Godefroy (Paris VI, Jussieu)
  • Nassif Ghoussoub (British Columbia)
  • Rafe Mazzeo (Stanford)
  • Clément Mouhot (Univ Cambridge, UK)
  • Barbara Nelli (Univ LAquila, Italy)
  • Sylvia Serfaty (Courant Institute / NYU)
  • María Dolores Ugarte (Public Univ Navarra)
  • Wenceslao González-Manteiga (Univ Santiago Compostela)

Research Commission

Advisory board, elected by the Institute. Most of the research areas at the institute should be represented in this board. Its president will be the Director of the Institiute, and a member designated by the president will act as a secretary. Members elected on March 6 2020. Members with (*) form the sub-Commision encharged of evaluation of the Scientific proposals sent within the Support Program of the Institute:

  • Ana María Aguilera (*)
  • José Miguel Angulo
  • Antonio Arcos
  • Jose A. Cañizo (*)
  • Pilar Carrasco
  • Jose Antonio Gálvez
  • Pedro García Sánchez (*)
  • Josefa Linares
  • Ginés López
  • Miguel Martín (*)
  • Antonio Peralta (*)
  • Joaquín Pérez (*)
  • Teresa E. Pérez
  • M. Magdalena Rodríguez
  • Patricia Román
  • Alfonso Romero
  • Antonio Ros
  • María del Mar Rueda
  • David Ruiz (*)
  • Manuel Ruiz Galán
  • María Dolores Ruiz Medina (*)
  • Miguel Sánchez (*)
  • Francisco Torralbo
  • Francisco de Asís Torres
  • Pedro Torres (*)
  • Salvador Villegas